BOLLYWOOD : NOW AND THEN


Bollywood now and then

So, are you a Hollywood freak?

Do you like Avengers-type films or Birdman-type films?

Ah, never mind, Let’s talk about Bollywood for a moment.

I’m 19 by the way, just to make sure that our perspectives match and I’m not gonna pull of the good old subtle comparison between the cultural shock in all these years. No, I’m not gonna talk about Rajesh Khanna, Raj Kapoor because I really don’t know ‘em.

Let’s just talk about the Bollywood from a south Indian’s perspective, who grew up not watching Bollywood Movies!!

Honestly speaking, the first Hindi language movie that I remember watching completely was ‘Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi’ which was released in 2008, starring  Shahrukh Khan, who I didn’t admire at that time. No, not in the big screen of course, but by renting a DVD (typical middle class, right?!). As far as i remember, that DVD had 4 other movies, all those worth for just 20 bucks!!

I had just finished my 7th class and was enjoying my holidays when my brother first introduced me to Hindi cinema . As I didn’t understand Hindi, he was there to do the translation. Prior to this I just had glimpses of the films like ‘Koi mil gaya’ ‘Kabhi Kushi Kabhi Gham’ and ‘Devdas’ and I could have named just four heroes, that is the three Khans and one Roshan.

Cut it, back to 2016, now I guess I have enough knowledge about Bollywood so that I can protect it from the ‘so called honest comments from the so called Hollywood freaks’. No, I don’t dislike them. I’m a huge fan of Hollywood myself (ah, Birdman kind of movies though). I just can’t hear those lame comments from the useless people, who doesn’t understand the amount of efforts put in by the film makers behind a movie. Hollywood makes films for Hollywood kind of people. Same goes with the Bollywood also. So, it’s kind of a user based approach. When users change, the product also changes.

So, speaking about Bollywood, over these 8 years I have felt the transition. I have felt its approach to make it more realistic, more colourful and less cheesy. And as a result, we now have ‘Udta Punjab’ and ‘Rustom’.

As it happens, all the protagonists were fair complexioned( I’m not being a racist, but that was the case). But now, we have amazing actors like Nawazuddin Siddique, Manoj Bajpayee, Vicky Kaushal, Radhika Apte, Swara Bhaskar, Richa Chadda to mention a few.

Bollywood is the second largest film industry in this world. When we talk about box office, the standards set is 100crore!! BeFunky Collage.jpg v

Talking about the transition, let’s try and analyse 2 movies acted by the same actor and same genre released at different times. ‘Kal Ho Na Ho’ and ‘Jab Tak Hain Jaan’. When you look at ‘Kal Ho Na Ho’, it’s an amazing love triangle which gets you welled up, albeit, you have to admit its classic cheesiness, for which Bollywood is known for. But In the case of ‘Jab Tak Hain Jaan’ it’s quite contradictory. You could feel the improvement in acting and dancing. If you have happened to watch both ‘Dil Chahta Hai’ and ‘Zindagi Na Milegi Dubara’(even though both the movies are directed by the same director), you can clearly contradict one from the other, which makes the latter one a classic. BeFunky Collage.jpg a

Speaking about Dark movies or the films belonging to film noir genre, we never expected Bollywood to produce movies like Masaan, Gangs of wasseypur, Udta Punjab, Bombay velvet, Badlapur and Raman Raghav. And, when it comes to Classic-fiction, there are movies like Piku, Fan, Bajirao Mastani, Haider and yeah Bollywood has never failed to produce some epic biopics like Bhaag Milka Bhaag, Mary kom, Sarabjit, Talvar which are worth a mention.BeFunky Collage.jpg final

These movies are no less when compared to the classic Hollywood ones. In 2008, I never imagined Bollywood to produce these kind. Although there is a problem with the censor board, which created quite a hype during the release of the recent controversial movie Udta Punjab, it can still be fixed. If we encourage these movies by watching them, surely more classic films will be made in the offing.

One movie, I guess which is regarded as the greatest movies of all time by myself is Rockstar.

(just kidding :P, though ).

But yeah, it definitely makes it to the “must watch movies before you die” list. The movie is directed by Imtiyaz Ali, casting Ranbhir Kapoor and Nargis Fakhri in the lead roles. According to me it’s the best film, because it’s totally my kind of movie and I could not find a single flaw in it even after watching it for more than 30 times (Insane right?!). You can totally tell that the maestro is behind the music and if you happen to like Sufi, this film is just a treat for your ears. This film just proved that Imitiyaz Ali is a legend. If you haven’t watched this film yet, I don’t want to provide you with any spoilers, just stop reading this and watch the film right away before it’s too late. But then again you might not like it, because it’s all my opinion, but how can you not like Rockstar??!!

As a matter of fact, it’s bizarre that we are losing legends in every field and new user based products are being produced. Let’s just hope that the products work and industry continues to produce more and more awesome films!!

Gud day!

3 thoughts on “BOLLYWOOD : NOW AND THEN”

  1. Pingback: Quora
  2. Pingback: Quora
  3. Pingback: Quora

comment :

